Student Councils

Within the KU Student Senate, there are three Student Councils that make up the backbone of the legislative branch. Each legislative cycle begins with a series of Student Council meetings, in which a bill passes in two Student Councils before moving to a final vote in the Students Assembly. The three (3) Student Councils are: Finance, Social Justice, and Student Rights & Affairs. Attendance in a Student Council is required for all Student Senators, but any other students at KU can also vote within a Student Council. Voting rights are guaranteed at the first meeting of the semester for non-Senators, or if a student attends two consecutive meetings.


For more information about a specific Student Council, email one of the members of Student Council leadership below:


Student Council Chair: Camden Baxter,

Vice-Chair: Megan Stopperan,

Secretary: Kunal Gupta,


Social Justice

Student Council Chair: Ana-Sofia Lahovary,

Vice-Chair: Jadyn Walker,

Secretary: Olivia Lara,


Student Rights & Affairs

Student Council Chair: Austin Christ,

Vice-Chair: Simrah Javed,

Secretary: Alicia Ramos



Please email our Chief of Staff at with any questions.