Student Councils


Within the KU Student Senate, there are three Student Councils that make up the backbone of the legislative branch. Each legislative cycle begins with a series of Student Council meetings, in which a bill passes in two Student Councils before moving to a final vote in the Students Assembly. The three (3) Student Councils are: Finance, Social Justice, and Student Rights & Affairs. Attendance in a Student Council is required for all Student Senators, but any other students at KU can also vote within a Student Council. Voting rights are guaranteed at the first meeting of the semester for non-Senators, or if a student attends two consecutive meetings.

 


For more information about a specific Student Council, email one of the members of Student Council leadership below:

Finance

Student Council Chair: Camden Baxter, camden.baxter@ku.edu

Vice-Chair: Colin Campbell, colin.campbell@ku.edu

Secretary: Kevinh Nguyen, kevinh.nguyen@ku.edu

 

Social Justice

Student Council Chair: Josepha Kamseu, jkamseu@ku.edu

Vice-Chair: Rosbel Garza, rosbel-garza@ku.edu

Secretary: Nicole Norvell, nicolenorvell@ku.edu

 

Student Rights & Affairs

Student Council Chair: Abdullah Talat Al-Awhad, abdullah.awhad@ku.edu

Vice-Chair: Leena Abdelmoity, leena.abdelmoity@ku.edu

Secretary: Madeline Souser, maddie.souser@ku.edu

 

 

Please email our Chief of Staff at senatecos@ku.edu with any questions.