at The University of Kansas
  • Home
  • Get Involved
  • Legislative Committees

Legislative Committees

Within the KU Student Senate, there are four legislative committees that make up the backbone of the legislative branch. Each legislative cycle begins with a series of committee meetings, in which a bill pass in two committees before moving on to the Full Senate. The committees - Finance, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, Student Rights, and University Affairs - are required for all senators, but any other students at KU can also vote within a committee. Voting rights are guaranteed at the first meeting of the semester, or if a student attends two consecutive meetings.

Legislative committees meet on every other Wednesday night. The schedule and meeting location can be found on our homepage or by clicking here.



For more information about a specific committee, email the appropriate listing below:



Committee Chair: Hannah Ehmcke,

Vice Chair: Andrew Moore,

Secretary: Rachel Colligan,


Diversity, Equity and Inclusion 

Committee Chair: Vacant 

Vice Chair: Arianna Chavarria,

Secretary: Sara Ahmed,


University Affairs

Committee Chair: Max Schieber,

Vice Chair: Jacob Hammil,

Secretary: Danielle Wolff,


Student Rights

Committee Chair: Vacant

Vice Chair: Vacant

Secretary: Martin Vasquez,


Please email our Chief of Staff Zach Thomason at for more information or with any questions.

Connect With Your Senate!

Facebook             Twitter             Instagram

KU Today
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times