at The University of Kansas
  • Home
  • Get Involved
  • Legislative Committees

Legislative Committees

Within the KU Student Senate, there are four legislative committees that make up the backbone of the legislative branch. Each legislative cycle begins with a series of committee meetings, in which a bill pass in two committees before moving on to the Full Senate. The committees - Finance, Multicultural Affairs, Student Rights, and University Affairs - are required for all senators, but any other students at KU can also vote within a committee. Voting rights are guaranteed at the first meeting of the semester, or if a student attends two consecutive meetings.

Legislative committees meet on every other Wednesday night. You can find the schedule on our main page.

For more information about a specific committee, email the appropriate listing below:



Committee Chair: Chance Maginness

Vice Chair: Seth Wingerter

Secretary: Sneha Verma

Twitter - @KUFinanceCmte


Multicultural Affairs

Committee Chair: Zoya Khan

Vice Chair: Daniel Lee

Secretary: Jessica Guardiola

Twitter - @KUSenateMA


Student Rights

Committee Chair: Martin Doherty

Vice Chair: Alexis Mills

Secretary: Brendan Phillips

Twitter - @KUStudentRights


University Affairs

Committee Chair: Adrian Janowiack

Vice Chair: Hanna Hayden

Secretary: Sydney Summers

Twitter - @KUSenateUA


Please email our Chief of Staff at for more information.

Connect With Your Senate!

KU Today
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times