The University of Kansas
  • Home
  • Get Involved
  • Committees

Committees

Within the KU Student Senate, there are four legislative committees that make up the backbone of the legislative branch. Each legislative cycle begins with a series of committee meetings, in which a bill passes in two committees before moving on to the Full Senate. The committees - Finance, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, Student Rights, and University Affairs - are required for all senators, but any other students at KU can also vote within a committee. Voting rights are guaranteed at the first meeting of the semester, or if a student attends two consecutive meetings.

Legislative committees meet every other Wednesday night. The schedule and meeting location can be found on our homepage or by clicking here.

 


 

For more information about a specific committee, email the appropriate listing below:

 

Finance

Committee Chair: Andrew Moore, andrew.a.moore@ku.edu

Vice-Chair: Aparamay Mishra, apramaymishra@ku.edu

Secretary: Hayley Koontz, hayley.koontz@ku.edu

 

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion 

Committee Chair: Humberto Gomez-Salinas, humberto.gomezsalinas@ku.edu

Vice-Chair: Arianna Chavarria, ariannachacarria@ku.com

Secretary: Sara Ahmed, sayahmed@ku.edu

 

University Affairs

Committee Chair: Max Schieber, m579s940@ku.edu

Vice-Chair: Jacob Hammil, jhammil@ku.edu

Secretary: Danielle Wolff, daniellewolff@ku.edu

 

Student Rights

Committee Chair: Derek Dunn, derek_dunn@ku.edu

Vice Chair: Luis Chavez, lchavez@ku.edu

Secretary: Martin Vasquez, mjv04@ku.edu

 

Please email our Chief of Staff Addison Henson at senatecos@ku.edu for more information or with any questions.


What's Happening?

For information on Virtual Volunteering, visit https://volunteer.ku.edu/

Connect With Your Senate!

Facebook  Instagram  Twitter