The University of Kansas

Committees

Within the KU Student Senate, there are four legislative committees that make up the backbone of the legislative branch. Each legislative cycle begins with a series of committee meetings, in which a bill passes in two committees before moving on to the Full Senate. The committees - Finance, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, Student Rights, and University Affairs - are required for all senators, but any other students at KU can also vote within a committee. Voting rights are guaranteed at the first meeting of the semester, or if a student attends two consecutive meetings.

Legislative committees meet every other Wednesday night and the schedule can be found here.

 


 

For more information about a specific committee, email the appropriate listing below:

 

Finance

Committee Chair: Hammad Hussain, hammad@ku.edu

Vice-Chair: Sam Harder, sam_harder@ku.edu

Secretary: Julia Stopperan, julia.stopperan@ku.edu 

 

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion 

Committee Chair: Ximena Ibarra, ximenaibarra@ku.edu  

Vice-Chair:  Adrian Cisneros, ajc7932@ku.edu

Secretary: Emma Whitaker, emmawhitaker@ku.edu

 

University Affairs

Committee Chair: Danielle Wolff, daniellewolff@ku.edu

Vice-Chair: Lyndsie Harper, lch99@ku.edu

Secretary: Victoria Hughes, vehughes@ku.edu

 

Student Rights

Committee Chair: Derek Dunn, derek_dunn@ku.edu

Vice Chair: Max Lillich, max8@ku.edu

Secretary: Mary Morrison, mary.morrison@ku.edu

 

Please email our Chief of Staff at senatecos@ku.edu with any questions.


What's Happening?

For information on Virtual Volunteering, visit https://volunteer.ku.edu/

Connect With Your Senate!

Facebook  Instagram  Twitter